too many connections to http port

Discussion Of All Legal Topics Anything Goes, No Personal Information or Attacks.
Trading, Buying, Selling Links, Traffic, Domains, Websites Go Here.
Looking for Work or Hiring Employees or Independent Contractors Post Here.
Sponsor Announcement & News
Post Reply
Abby
Posts: 473
Joined: July 13th, 2018, 10:04 pm
Title: No man pays my bills

too many connections to http port

#1

Post by Abby » March 17th, 2023, 6:54 am

My sites were all sow for the last 2 days, in WHC I was seeing load averages of 3 plus all the time and I opened a ticket at my host and they made things normal, it is running load averages of around 0.6 again they replied with

"We blocked network that created too many connections to http port."

What does that mean in English, not tech talk, was I getting hacked?





calista
Posts: 1335
Joined: February 20th, 2018, 6:15 pm
Title: Manila Babe

#3

Post by calista » March 18th, 2023, 10:01 am

bikker19 wrote:
March 17th, 2023, 8:15 am
yes seems like a ddos or some bot trying to crash your sites.
Those were my initial thoughts.




User avatar
BrasSmonkey
Posts: 6007
Joined: February 28th, 2018, 6:31 pm
Title: Smell My Sack
Referrals: 1
Contact:

#4

Post by BrasSmonkey » March 18th, 2023, 10:51 am

bikker19 wrote:
March 17th, 2023, 8:15 am
yes seems like a ddos or some bot trying to crash your sites.
ddos or could be bots. google worked my ass over back in the day...




alsporn
Posts: 305
Joined: May 12th, 2018, 4:35 pm

#5

Post by alsporn » March 19th, 2023, 6:42 am

A load average of 3 is not high enough for it to be a ddos when my sites were ddos attacked the load would go above 20.




User avatar
tacnet
Posts: 1775
Joined: February 22nd, 2019, 7:21 pm
Referrals: 2
Contact:

#6

Post by tacnet » March 19th, 2023, 12:04 pm

This will undoubtedly be a bot trying to probe your site

We get it all the time. Not much you can do but try and block the traffic at the server level

CDSally
Posts: 309
Joined: September 10th, 2019, 2:04 am

#7

Post by CDSally » March 20th, 2023, 8:37 am

tacnet wrote:
March 19th, 2023, 12:04 pm
This will undoubtedly be a bot trying to probe your site

We get it all the time. Not much you can do but try and block the traffic at the server level
My host once blocked a range of IP's because my sites were getting hit by bots,my question is what if real people using that IP range get blocked too.




User avatar
tacnet
Posts: 1775
Joined: February 22nd, 2019, 7:21 pm
Referrals: 2
Contact:

#8

Post by tacnet » March 20th, 2023, 4:17 pm

CDSally wrote:
March 20th, 2023, 8:37 am
tacnet wrote:
March 19th, 2023, 12:04 pm
This will undoubtedly be a bot trying to probe your site

We get it all the time. Not much you can do but try and block the traffic at the server level
My host once blocked a range of IP's because my sites were getting hit by bots,my question is what if real people using that IP range get blocked too.
They would have to be on the same network

Generally your host will block the the first 3 numbers of the IP address (the network address) and leave a wildcard for the 4th number (the subnet)

eg 192.168.0.*

Jag
Posts: 4167
Joined: February 15th, 2018, 9:51 am
Title: From Malta with love
Referrals: 1

#9

Post by Jag » March 24th, 2023, 6:26 am

When it happened to me one thing the host did was rebuild my Kernel don't ask me why, that and block some ip's. The load on my box dropped drastically.
From Malta with love and sunshine

too many connections to http port

Post Reply